14/366

IMG_0523There is something evocative, and even quintessentially American, about an old motel and a desert highway. I pulled my car over and snapped this photo for that reason alone not realizing until much later that the Harmony Motel in Twentynine Palms, California is not only quite well known but a part of rock-and-roll history. Apparently back in the late ’80s a band called U2 stumbled upon the Harmony and decided, on a whim, to stay for a while. Not only did they take a now-iconic photo in front of the motel’s sign (not the same one pictured here I’m sorry to say) but, according to legend and the motel’s website (although it is disputed elsewhere), they worked on a good portion of their classic album The Joshua Tree while in residence.

8 thoughts on “14/366

  1. am disciplining myself not to use the word ‘wonderful’ quite so much, as it is one of my favourite words and pales in significance with overuse. so if i were to use it, i would use it here. love the retro feel!

    • Thank you, Chris. I’m not usually one for a lot of post-processing but I thought this particular photo called for it. Kind of fun for a change. :-)

Leave a comment