251/366

desert-wildflowers

Although I ended up spending most of my day at the Salton Sea, the original purpose for my trip to the desert was to check out the “super bloom” of wildflowers that has been attracting a barrage of visitors to nearby Borrego Springs these past couple of weeks. I thought if I arrived early enough on a weekday (I left my house at 5:30 am which, if you know me, is pretty much unheard of regardless of the photo op) I’d be able to avoid the crowds. That was wishful thinking though as the town was already filling up with “petal peepers” shortly after I got there. So, feeling myself becoming cranky (I’d been up since 4 am after all and wasn’t about to wait in line in order to commune with nature), I took off for some peace and quiet at the largely-abandoned Salton Sea. All that being said, I did manage a few impressionistic wildflower shots before abandoning my quest. This one is my favorite.

4 thoughts on “251/366

Leave a Reply

