134/366

IMG_20160708_0005 (4)

So, I’ve been feeling a little ambivalent as to how, or even if, I want to go forward with this daily-photo project which, of course, has been anything but daily in recent months.

I’ll admit I’m tempted to abandon it. Things have changed after all (I just put up my fifth photography exhibit with a sixth opportunity falling into my lap just this afternoon), and it would be easy for me to rationalize that I don’t have time and that I’m justified in easing up on the self-imposed pressure.

There’s also the issue of keeping up appearances. I’ve always looked upon this blog as a safe place to document my overall progress, as well as my experiments with different kinds of photography, and that was fine when hardly anyone was paying attention. Now I feel self conscious knowing that people are, on occasion, looking for me online only to stumble upon what is decidedly not a collection of my best images but, rather, a visual journal and photographic sketchbook. The truth is, a project like this sometimes means posting a photo that otherwise wouldn’t make the cut not to mention the fact that vintage-camera and home-darkroom experiments and even Polaroids (as much as I love them) aren’t for everyone.

The thing is, I also love this blog and have come to think of it as the project-from-which-all-good-things-have-come. It wouldn’t feel right to abandon it now knowing, as I do, that without it there would be no photography shows.

So, I’ve decided to keep my head down and continue plugging away at it. I may redouble my efforts (however sporadically) and try to finish by December 31st or I may simply keep posting until I get to photo 366 even if that means I don’t finish until sometime next summer. :-)

Because, when all is said and done, it doesn’t really matter. What matters (to me anyway) is that this site continues to propel me forward while also providing me with some much-needed structure.

So, it’s in the spirit of experimentation that I’m posting my first sun print today. Also known as the blueprint process, or cyanotypes, sun prints were first introduced by Sir John Herschel, an astronomer, in 1842 and are the oldest non-silver photographic printing process.

And, while many of the contemporary sun prints you see are printed from film negatives, the earliest cyanotypes by Anna Atkins were simple botanical prints created by arranging objects on treated paper and then exposing the paper to sunlight. As you can see, I’ve decided to go old school with my first effort, this sun print of a pine bough.

Thank you so much for sticking with me, folks. Wishing you all a great weekend!

6 thoughts on “134/366

  1. I can relate to this quandary, as it took multiple attempts to get my 365 project completed. Using the blog for experiments is a great idea!

    Love the cyanotype!

    Frank

    • Thank you, Frank! I love trying new things. There is so much more to photography than just dSLRs and mobile phones (although I do love them)! As for 365 (or, in this case, 366) projects, I am a great believer in chipping away at big goals with small, consistent actions and am always quick to encourage people to try it regardless of their field of interest. (I just read a story about Jerry Seinfeld who credits his great success to his early daily-writing practice.) I’ve managed to complete three daily-photo projects in past years but this year is different. I will finish but am OK cutting myself a little slack on the timeline. Thanks, as always, for taking the time to comment!

  2. I can understand and appreciate your dilemma, Caryn, but I have to confess that I, for one, am selfishly grateful that you will continue. I look forward to every one of your posts and given my distance, don’t have the joy of seeing a corpus of your work at an exhibition. So this blog is my little link to what you’re up to…and I love it! :-)

    • Thank you so much, Lori. It means a lot to me that you’ve continued to follow along all this time. Your support and kind words are very much appreciated!

  3. I totally understand your dilemma – and agree with the previous comment (selfishly grateful). Only having occasional opportunity to get online, your blog is one of the things I always look for. I appreciate your spirit of adventure and the willingness to take the time to actually see the world around you. Your work is always a breath of fresh air – Love the shot!

Leave a Reply

