1000!

IMG_20140610_0012I’ve been looking forward to this day for a while and here it is. It’s been four-and-a-half years since I began sharing my photos on this blog and today marks my 1000th post!

This is a big deal for me mostly because I haven’t always been successful when it comes to completing (or even starting) big projects. I’m easily overwhelmed, not all that self-disciplined, and a procrastinator extraordinaire.

My blog has, happily, allowed me to overcome this deeply-ingrained pattern and is also why I’ve become such a big believer in the magic of simply chipping away at big things through small but consistent actions.

Strangely enough, a technical glitch recently wiped out almost my entire blog archive which, in turn, forced me to reinsert almost 900 photos one by one. This was a massive undertaking but also quite illuminating in that it gave me the opportunity to look closely at what is basically a visual record of my evolving sensibilities, abilities, and taste. The thing is, it wasn’t always pretty. There were many photos (from the first year especially), that I was embarrassed to see again and that would never make the cut now. On the other hand, I think it’s fair to say that I’ve achieved my original goal for this blog, set on January 1, 2010, which was simply to improve as a photographer. I mean, how can you do something almost daily for over four years and not become better at it?

All of which brings me to a TEDx talk I came across the other day in which Jolie Guillebeau discusses how she fulfilled her goal of becoming an artist through the act of painting one small painting every day over a span of 1000 days. If you’re looking for some inspiration or are feeling the least bit daunted by a big goal or project you might want to take a look.

As for today’s photo, it’s a Polaroid SX-70 image (the instant film is, as always, via the Impossible Project) of a boogie-board display I spotted during a recent day at the beach.

See you back here tomorrow!

4 thoughts on “1000!

Leave a Reply

