802

IMG_20141228_0010
Another Polaroid Spectra image from my recent photo walk at the Newport Pier. It was a typically overcast summer morning and all was quiet along the funky and ungentrified row of shops and restaurants except for the long line of beach-goers waiting patiently outside Seaside Bakery for their turn at some coffee and donuts.

In looking through the photos I took that morning what strikes me the most is the interplay between the old-fashioned and nearly-obsolete medium of instant film and what is pretty much a timeless setting. This photo, and most of the others I took that morning, could have easily been taken in the ’70s when I was a kid spending my own summers in Newport. In fact, I’m pretty sure Seaside Bakery was there at the time and if Polaroid film hadn’t been so darn expensive even then I might very well have a 35-year-old photo that looks exactly like this!

Taken with a Polaroid Spectra camera and expired
Polaroid Image Softtone film (Type 1200/ISO 640)

2 thoughts on “802

Leave a Reply

